Oils

Marula Oil

1280px-Marula02

Marula Oil is extracted from the kernels of the fruits of a Marula tree. The Marula tree is also known as Sclerocarya birrea. Marula has been traditionally used for centuries in cosmetics, in food as a cooking oil and as a meat preservative and even to treat leather. Its color ranges from a clear to light yellow and it has a slightly nutty smell.

Marula is slowly making its way on to the scene as being a “miracle” oil. It is good for a number of things. It has many antioxidants and monounsaturated fatty acids.

  • Mono-Unsaturated fatty acids: Oleic Acid.
  • Polyunsaturated fatty acids: Linoleic Acid, Alpha-linolenic acid.
  • Saturated fatty acids: Palmitic Acid, Stearic Acid, Arachidonic Acid.
  • Tocopherols, Sterols and flavanoids, with antioxidant action, procyanidin, galattotannin and catechins are also present.

Marula is found in South Africa. The Tsong people and the Mozambique have used this oil for various things ranging from a moisturizing body lotion, massage oil for babies and even have used it in lieu of water to clean themselves.

Marula is amazingly hydrating and lightweight. It contains more antioxidants than even the famous Argan Oil. And it is much lighter than Argan Oil. Rub a little into your hair and tame away the frizz, add shine, make your hair follicles stronger all while not weighing down your hair or making it appear greasy!

Got troublesome dry and cracking cuticles? Rub some Marula oil on them every day and instantly feel the softness. This was actually how I came across Marula Oil to begin with. I bought a nail strengthening set from my local drug store and it came with a little bottle of Marula Oil for the cuticles. When I used it I loved it immediately. It absorbed into my skin right away and I didnt have a greasy residue left over afterwards that I felt like I needed to wipe my hands on a towel in order to send a text message. I started using it every day, or pretty much every day that I could remember and eventually decided I needed to do some research on this and see if it has other benefits and how can I get a big bottle. I was not disappointed with the benefits. I will say, it does run on the pricey side, however. You get what you pay for with this product though. I bought a 1 oz bottle for $10 off Amazon. I still have plenty left. I have been using it daily on my hands and have incorporated it in some of my skin care recipes. You only need a few drops.

It is good for any skin type. It absorbs quickly and does not clog pores. Some have been using it for the anti-aging benefits. It has plenty of Omega Fatty acids, Vitamin E and Vitamin C which are all great to improve skin elasticity and it reduces the appearance of fine lines and deep set wrinkles.

I could keep going on about the benefits and amazing qualities of Marula Oil, but I just don’t have enough time. I would be sitting at this computer for a while.

Marula-Photos

1 thought on “Marula Oil”

Leave a Reply

